Caught Driving With a Suspended or Revoked License in Suffolk County?
Driving with a suspended license or a revoked license is a crime in Suffolk County, NY. If you are pulled over and arrested in Suffolk County, New York, then you will need to appear in Suffolk County District (Criminal) Court to be arraigned. You will potentially face trial, and if you do, you will need an experienced traffic attorney by your side to defense your case.
Criminal Charges for Driving With a Suspended or Revoked License
In Suffolk County, driving with a suspended license or a revoked license is a misdemeanor or felony crime. The severity of the charge depends on what circumstances you are arrested under. Driving with a suspended license AND a DWI/DUI will result in a First Degree offense. If you have a previous conviction of driving with a suspended/revoked license (within the last 1 ½ years), this is a Second Degree offense. If you have no extenuating circumstances, then you will be charged with a Third Degree offense.
If convicted: a First Degree offense:, a Class E Felony, imprisonment of up to 4 years and a fine of less than $5,000; a Second Degree offense: misdemeanor, imprisonment of 180 days or less and a fine of at least $500; a Third Degree offense: misdemeanor, imprisonment of 30 days or less, and a fine of less than $500.
Contact A Suffolk County Criminal Defense Attorney If You Are Charged with Driving With a Suspended or Revoked License
The Badanes Law Office has represented many clients facing a suspended or revoked license in the Suffolk County, New York area. If you need fast, aggressive criminal defense representation, then reach out to David Badanes Esq. for a consultation today at (631) 239-1702 or contact us online. While each case is different, our defense firm will go to great lengths to make sure that you receive no prison time and pay no or little fine.